This is NOT a Competition

I repeat: THIS IS NOT A COMPETITION. This is me trying to better myself as I set goals and destroy them. You don’t see it that way, and that’s alright.

You see it as a girl who is starting the EMOM run a little earlier than every minute on the minute and you make a comment about it. You see slow. You see a girl struggling up the incline of the hill and make a comment about it. You see lazy. You see a girl who may not get both feet across the line every single time and you make a comment about it. You see cheater.

These are all ok things to see, but you are not seeing the real truth behind these things.

I am the girl starting the EMOM run a little earlier than every minute on the minute because I still want to do the full distance, but I need a little bit more recovery before I can move on to the second movement. I see motivation. I am the girl struggling up the incline of the hill because I have a spasm that I’m dealing with and shin pain is starting to set in. I see strength. I see a girl who tries to get both feet across the line every single time, but might miss once or twice because of the sweat coming from … everywhere, really. I see determination.

Your comments didn’t hurt my feelings or upset me, but you also need to take a look at your workout versus mine. First, I am hang power cleaning DOUBLE the weight that you are. Second, I am doing my best version of strict push-ups. You are doing “girl pushups” – stupid to call it that. Pushups are damn hard. And finally, I saw that multiple reps that you didn’t do. I made no comments. I actually told you “nice work” multiple times, because this is hard.

I don’t care about what work you do, what weight you use, or if you cheat the rep schemes. That is all on you. But just know that unless we are both doing prescribed weight and have agreed that we’re both trying to see who can do this the best, I’m not trying to win. I really don’t care. It’s an EMOM. You and I are both going to finish at the exact same time.

This it not a competition. I’m just proud to show up, sweat, go home, cuddle with my dogs and eat carbs.

17904438_10208747850076087_7048539997112190269_n

-E

Leave a Reply

